In Front of the Gift that Keeps on Giving

By: goodislove

Jul 09 2014

Category: Germany

Leave a comment

There was a backlash in Germany back when Eddy Snowden blew everyone out of the water. Folks here were particularly incensed – a little bit because they bugged Angie Merkel’s phone – more so because many give two bits about privacy. But it just keeps coming.

I took this picture in February while in Cologne for Karneval (there’s some more about that HERE and HERE ). I forgot about it and it sat in my drafts for a long time as a bare skeleton.

Then just this week it was revealed that a German double agent was feeding info to the USA. And now everyone is pissed again.

I like my country, but more and  more it’s starting to creep me out. On one hand there’s a religious fervor around the 2nd Amendment with all the creepers wandering into Chipotle with their assault weapons, while we just chill as Eric Holder wipes his butt with the 4th. Then there’s the Supreme Court that agrees with the flunkies at Hobby Lobby opposing condoms for sexy folks, while at the same time being fine with supporting contraceptives when they give a decent return. And don’t even get me started on the freak outs about gays getting married, while at the same time ignoring the fact that the government is harvesting gobs of info with nary a second thought.

So here I stand with a many-tentacled octopus representing my home country. I am dressed as a banana. My expression represents an empathetic ‘good grief’ that I send out to all of my friends. Some day we’ll get back there, I promise. But in the meantime, any chance we can turn things around a bit before we do?

Leave a Reply

