In front of smarties

By: goodislove

Apr 03 2013

Category: England, With friends

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.7
Focal Length:4.3mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/500 sec
Camera:Canon PowerShot ELPH 300 HS

When you get to Cambridge, you see, well it’s not completely overwhelming, but the relative frequency of disheveled, distracted folks carrying around an air of genius is enough to note.  I mean, it should be assumed that the place where Newton brought up that gravity issue, where Watson & Crick pulled the cover off DNA (based on strong work from Rosalind Franklin), and where Charles Darwin studied would have a number of smart folk walking about.

But it seems strange to notice it outright.

And I don’t want to stereotype (which is rhetorical code for: okey dokey, I will stereotype), but for some, it almost seemed that projecting a ‘who cares what I look like, I’m thinking’ attitude was a social indicator for brilliance. I am basing this on absolutely nothing factual, but if Revenge of the Nerds provides any social clues for identifying genius, this place is exceptional.

And if this is the case, then I am clearly out of my league here.

Joining me in today’s edition is my co-worker. We are in a boat punting with other friends on the River Cam. Trinity College or King’s College is in the background behind us. I’m too lazy to look it up right now.

Leave a Reply

