In front of Old Growth, #2

By: goodislove

Nov 24 2012

Category: Poland

1 Comment

Aperture:f/2.7
Focal Length:4.3mm
ISO:160
Shutter:1/30 sec
Camera:Canon PowerShot ELPH 300 HS

Today’s lesson: No matter where you are or how far you are from those that you love, the universe recognizes another year on the clock and ensures that you are rewarded. As I walked toward the bus stop in the village of Bialowieza on the Eastern edge of Poland, I crossed paths with a man in his mid-50s with a W.C. Fields nose and an old style felt hat.

“Oh friend, where are you from?”

I admitted that I was American.

“Oh, Amerykanin! Go Obama!”

His heavy set friend with cuckoo clock eyes stood by, hands in black jacket pockets and the flaps on his hat pulled down against the cold. While he didn’t speak any English, both were welcoming. And eager to hear how I found my way to their town.  And then to discuss the trouncing that Obama had meted out.

My new friend pulled a pack of cigarettes from his pocket and passed me one. A non-smoker, I acquiesced given that this may have been my only birthday present that day – other than the sweet text from the lovely lady I call home.

One comment on “In front of Old Growth, #2”

  1. happy birthday! it’s never too late to become a smoker, but i think it better to become a health food junkie.


Leave a Reply

