Can You Cut It?

By: goodislove

Aug 23 2009

Category: Uncategorized

2 Comments

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:6.2mm
ISO:200
Shutter:1/30 sec
Camera:Canon PowerShot SD1100 IS


I sidled up to the counter at Milwaukee’s homey Mitchell Airport (ostensibly named for my brother Mitchell John Freund). I wanted to carry my luggage onto the plane and avoid paying the $15 surcharge for checked baggage.

“Identification?” she asked. I handed over my license.

“Checking bags?” was the next question.

“Well, do you have to check your bag if you have mustard in it? Would that get through security?” I inquired. “I mean, it would be a shame if I’d try to take my mustard on board and they told me I had to either eat it all or throw it away at the security checkpoint. I mean I brought it from Mt. Horeb, home of the World Famous Mustard Museum.”

This piqued the woman’s curiosity and she asked me for more information. I found it hard to believe that anyone in Wisconsin could not know about the mustard museum, one man’s collection of over 5,000 mustards from all 50 states and more than 60 countries alongside a well-stocked gift shop.

I told her of the founder’s obsession with mustard, an obsession that drove this lawyer to steal a small container of mustard from a hotel cleaning cart before arguing a case before the Supreme Court of the United States. And how he collected all of those bottles, jars and tubes of mustard and artfully arranged them along a wide wall.

The neighboring check-in person began listening and chimed in that she had also heard of the World Famous Mustard Museum and spoke glowingly of its wonders.

“Well, gosh, I can’t charge you to check this bag. We’ll make sure your mustard gets home safely. And I’m going to have to check that out one day,” she said.

2 comments on “Can You Cut It?”

  1. Why didn’t my Badger friends spin tales of the World Famous Mustard Museum?

    • Maybe your friends weren’t cool enough? Just kidding, it’s a hidden gem of mustardy delight waiting to be discovered by all who venture there.


Leave a Reply

